Author Topic: Cant save gears  (Read 6692 times)

Bimmere30

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Cant save gears
« on: 00:01:01 - 08/22/10 »
I am using win 7 and I cant save gears in Opera and Firefox.

In opera when I pres save, list or summary button it automatically redirects me to this page http://www.estiah.com/json/character/deck/save/mode/export and the only thing on it are these words {"success":false,"msg":"An error has occured. "}. I can switch gears and set them as default, it even works when I put in 1 or 2 new charms in to the gear. But when I put 3 or more this happens.

In firefox it wont even let me remove charms, or add charms, and I cant even switch gears because it instantly stops responding. Its starts responding again in a few seconds but it never change, load or switch gear.

I tried disabling scripts and it didnt help, then I reinstalled firefox and it didnt help either.

Everything works fine in Chrome and IE. I also have a laptop with the same version windows and same (latest) version of Opera and firefox and everything works fine on it.

Any idea, help, advice...?

Rescenin

  • Wanderer
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • *RescenX*
Re: Cant save gears
« Reply #1 on: 15:07:13 - 08/25/10 »
It happens to me too, if you click "Save" button, with right-click, and choose "Open in a New Tab".
(Maybe) your computer has virus in it.
***********************************
Use Ubuntu like I do.
۱۲۳۴۵۶۷

Lezard

  • Bunny Demon
  • Bunnies
  • Bunny Cultist
  • *****
  • Posts: 3361
Re: Cant save gears
« Reply #2 on: 15:28:12 - 08/30/10 »
It is normal that some action do not work in Estiah if you click "open in a new tab", because these links are not new pages but rather hidden javascript function calls.

There is no virus involved, it's just how the game works. Just make a normal click on these links and it will work.

Bimmere30

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Cant save gears
« Reply #3 on: 17:17:00 - 08/30/10 »
OK, I understand that about new tabs, I was not trying to open these links in new tabs. I clicked on the Save, Summary and List buttons once with the left button, which should work. And it works just fine in Chrome and IE, and on my laptop, it just doesnt in Firefox and Opera on my PC. I do not have any viruses and I will not use Ubuntu.

Nipal

  • Bunny Mob
  • Bunnies
  • Bunny Cultist
  • *****
  • Posts: 3262
Re: Cant save gears
« Reply #4 on: 18:11:19 - 09/01/10 »
our player previously reported a bug similar to yours, as we dug deeper, we found out it was his anti-virus which was blocking some of estiah's javascript.
actually when some js cannot load, most of clicks on estiah pages will result in js error. and on action links such as [save] etc. js error will prevent the game
interface from functioning normally, then you'll see {"success":false,"msg":"An error has occured. "} errors since action links are not real page links.

anyway, please check if you have any js errors after pages load. if it's the case, it's very likely something on your computer is preventing the js from
being load. every estiah page should have zero js error, otherwise pretty nothing will work. (in firefox you can see this in error console, chrome has a
similar feature as well.)

Khanmots

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Cant save gears
« Reply #5 on: 17:03:44 - 09/07/10 »
I get the same behavior in Opera 10.X on two machines one with Vista/Avast the other with XP/McAfee.  I'll experiment with disabling Avast when I get home this evening.
With Opera 9.X everything worked correctly on both systems.

I may dig into it a bit more when I get home this evening see if I can find anything useful out, but for now I'm thinking there was a change from Opera 9 to Opera 10.  Could be a bug in Opera, or it could be that they're more strictly adhering to a standard.

Edit:
Disabled Avast and still see the same behavior.

Turned on javascript error reporting and get:
Code: [Select]
JavaScript - http://www.estiah.com/character/deck/index/id/129552

Uncaught exception: RangeError: Maximum recursion depth exceeded
Error thrown at line 135, column 6 in <anonymous function: toJSON>(object) in http://www.estiah.com/js/prototype.js?381.1:
    var value = Object.toJSON(object[property]);
called from line 135, column 6 in <anonymous function: toJSON>(object) in http://www.estiah.com/js/prototype.js?381.1:
    var value = Object.toJSON(object[property]);
called from line 135, column 6 in <anonymous function: toJSON>(object) in http://www.estiah.com/js/prototype.js?381.1:
    var value = Object.toJSON(object[property]);
called from line 135, column 6 in <anonymous function: toJSON>(object) in http://www.estiah.com/js/prototype.js?381.1:
    var value = Object.toJSON(object[property]);
called from line 135, column 6 in <anonymous function: toJSON>(object) in http://www.estiah.com/js/prototype.js?381.1:
    var value = Object.toJSON(object[property]);
called from line 135, column 6 in <anonymous function: toJSON>(object) in http://www.estiah.com/js/prototype.js?381.1:
    var value = Object.toJSON(object[property]);
called from line 135, column 6 in <anonymous function: toJSON>(object) in http://www.estiah.com/js/prototype.js?381.1:
    var value = Object.toJSON(object[property]);
called from line 135, column 6 in <anonymous function: toJSON>(object) in http://www.estiah.com/js/prototype.js?381.1:
    var value = Object.toJSON(object[property]);
called from line 135, column 6 in <anonymous function: toJSON>(object) in http://www.estiah.com/js/prototype.js?381.1:
    var value = Object.toJSON(object[property]);
called from line 135, column 6 in <anonymous function: toJSON>(object) in http://www.estiah.com/js/prototype.js?381.1:
    var value = Object.toJSON(object[property]);

Doing some searching runs across:
 http://issues.hudson-ci.org/browse/HUDSON-6424
« Last Edit: 02:18:04 - 09/08/10 by Khanmots »

Khanmots

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Cant save gears
« Reply #6 on: 02:42:42 - 09/08/10 »
Final note, if I use the user javascript feature in Opera to override line 130 of prototype.js to read
Code: [Select]
if (object.toJSON || object.toJSON) return object.toJSON();
Then my test-case for saving the deck works.  Looks like there's a bug in Opera, I'll see about reporting it, but you'd do all us Opera users a huge favor if you could adjust for it :)

Actually I'm overriding any instance of 'if (object.toJSON)' with 'if (object.toJSON || object.toJSON)'... but I didn't hunt through the other js files to see if I was hitting anything elsewhere.  If you're interesting in the code I'm using to override:
Code: [Select]
if(location.hostname.indexOf('estiah.com') != -1)
{
  window.opera.addEventListener('BeforeScript', function(e)
  {
    e.element.text = e.element.text.replace('if (object.toJSON)', 'if (object.toJSON || object.toJSON)');
  }, false);
}

Not efficient by any meaning of the word, but then... I don't know javascript so I guess I have an excuse  :-[

Also, Bimmere30, if you could provide your system specs, so I can report them it'd be greatly appreciated.  I'm guessing run winver and provide that and the specific version of Opera.  For instance I'm Vista Home Premium, Version 6.0 (Build 6002: Service Pack 2) running Opera Version 10.61 Build 3484

Nipal

  • Bunny Mob
  • Bunnies
  • Bunny Cultist
  • *****
  • Posts: 3262
Re: Cant save gears
« Reply #7 on: 11:53:25 - 09/08/10 »
prototype is an open source js library, we won't make any changes to it.
i think we're already using last stable version, maybe we should try some release candidate out to see the bug has been fixed.

Khanmots

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Cant save gears
« Reply #8 on: 12:12:54 - 09/08/10 »
Well, I'm thinking the bug is in Opera not prototype.js; it's merely easy to implement a work-around for the Opera bug in it.  Not sure that a newer version of it is going to include a browser-specific work-around.

On a different note, would it be worth it for me to put together a tutorial for Opera users on how to fix the issue for themselves?

Bimmere30

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Cant save gears
« Reply #9 on: 19:50:24 - 09/08/10 »
Hi

I am using: Win 7 Ultimate, Nod32 4.0.437.0, Opera 10.61 Build 3484, mozilla 3.6.8.

I tried to disable antivirus and it didnt work, so I am guessing it must be win 7 or something I install.

And at my computer is not all about Opera, my gears dont work in mozilla either. They work only in IE and chrom, which I dont like.

Ketherlight

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Cant save gears
« Reply #10 on: 12:09:27 - 09/09/10 »
A script on this page may be busy, or it may have stopped responding. You can stop the script now, or you can continue to see if the script will complete.

Script: http://www.estiah.com/js/prototype.js?381.1:195


Same problem here, everything was fine until yesterday. now i cant save gears, disabling avast doesnt work, there is no error in firefox console. the script just never ends. i'm using windows 7
Help :(

edit : works in stupid IE though :(
« Last Edit: 12:46:12 - 09/09/10 by Ketherlight »

Khanmots

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Cant save gears
« Reply #11 on: 18:14:59 - 09/09/10 »
Ketherlight, which browser?  I'll try to writeup how to fix it for Opera this evening, but I know nothing about FF.

Ketherlight

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Cant save gears
« Reply #12 on: 19:44:14 - 09/09/10 »
firefox 3.6.9

Bimmere30

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Cant save gears
« Reply #13 on: 21:13:19 - 09/09/10 »
I forget to mention that I didn't get any errors in FF console.

@ketherlight, did u install or update any programs?

Ketherlight

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Cant save gears
« Reply #14 on: 21:53:14 - 09/11/10 »
its fixed, thx to whoever did it :)